Heritage Months

Heritage Months and Observances

Join Pie in celebrating the beautiful diversity of our team of Pie-oneers.


January 16: Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Held on the third Monday of January, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day celebrates the life and achievements of this influential American civil rights leader.

January 22: Lunar New Year

The Lunar New Year marks the first new moon of the lunar calendar and is derived from 12 full cycles of the moon. It’s celebrated by many Asian communities including Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese. 


Black History Month

What began as a way to teach people about the history of Black Americans and their contributions to society, Black History Month seeks to ensure these perspectives are included in the national narrative. Today, the month is a call to inclusion year-round and celebrates more than Black history, but also the ongoing achievements of African Americans in all realms of society. 


Women’s History Month

What began as a smaller “Women’s History Week” on March 7, 1982, and was later petitioned by the National Women’s History Project to become a month-long celebration in 1987. The month gives us the opportunity to acknowledge the historical contributions of women in the United States.


Arab American History Month

Beginning in the 1990s, Arab American heritage was celebrated sporadically in various states at different times of the year, primarily in school districts. It wasn’t until 2017 when Arab America began a national initiative to coordinate all states under National Arab American Heritage Month.


Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

Beginning in 1977 as a smaller ten day celebration in May, Asian Pacific American Heritage started a month-long observance in 1990. The month commemorates the resilience and legacy, traditions, and culture of Asians, Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders across the United States.

Jewish American Heritage Month

Jewish American Heritage Month was proclaimed by President George W. Bush on April 20, 2006. At the time, the president commented, “We celebrate the rich history of the Jewish people in America and honor the great contributions they have made to our country.”

Older Americans Month

Older Americans Month got its start in 1963 as a result of a meeting between President John F. Kennedy and the National Council of Senior Citizens at which May was designated as “Senior Citizens Month.” At that time about 17 million Americans had reached their 65th birthday, roughly a third of which lived in poverty and the number of programs to address their needs were minimal. In 1980, President Jimmy Carter designated Senior Citizens Month as “Older Americans Month.” Today, Older Americans Month is celebrated each May to honor and recognize older Americans for the contributions they make to our families, communities, and society.


June 19: Juneteenth

Juneteenth is the oldest nationally celebrated commemoration of the ending of slavery in the United States.

Caribbean American Heritage Month

Caribbean American Heritage Month was established to create and disseminate knowledge about the contributions of Caribbean people to the United States. The House passed the Bill for recognizing the significance of Caribbean Americans in 2005.

Immigrant Heritage Month

Originally started in 2014, Immigrant Heritage Month is a month-long celebration that seeks to give immigrants and refugees in our country the opportunity to explore and celebrate their background as well as to create awareness on how diversity and immigration are both essential elements of our social fabric.

Pride Month

Pride Month was created to commemorate the Stonewall Rebellion—considered the start of the modern LGBTQ+ movement—which took place on June 28, 1969,. The month commemorates the progress of LGBTQ+ history and civil rights, and celebrates queer stories and excellence of the community.


National Hispanic Heritage Month

National Hispanic Heritage Month started as a weeklong celebration in 1968, and has grown to a month from September 15 through October 15 to incorporate the independence days of Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, and Nicaragua. The month recognizes the legacies and contributions of individuals who trace their roots to Spain, Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Spanish-speaking nations of the Caribbean.


November 11: Veterans Day

Veterans Day (originally known as Armistice Day) is a federal holiday in the United States observed annually on November 11, for honoring military veterans of the United States Armed Forces (who were discharged under conditions other than dishonorable). It coincides with other holidays including Armistice Day and Remembrance Day which are commemorated in other countries that mark the anniversary of the end of World War I.

Native American Heritage Month

Native American Heritage Month celebrates the long history of Indigenous people and communities. During this month we acknowledge the rich culture, unique traditions, and ongoing contributions of Native Americans.


December 3: International Day of Persons with Disabilities

International Day of Persons with Disabilities promotes the rights and well-being of persons with disabilities raising awareness of the political, economic, social and cultural aspects on how disability affects people around the world.

More than 1 billion people in the world have a disability. At 15 percent of the world’s population, persons with disabilities account for the world’s largest minority.